Time for Easter!

What a beautiful morning!  I am looking forward to a day outside with the high temperature at 60 degrees.  At this time of year, I prefer to garden when it is a little cooler.  I am just not ready yet for the 70’s.  Well, I do like the temperatures in the 70’s but when I want to read outside or relax, not garden.  That’s just me.  (Today’s projects are to edge my garden beds and mow my grass for the first time.)

I am so delighted by Easter flowers.  Tulips, hyacinths, daffodils, Easter lilies…all of them!  Their colors are so vibrant!  I know that some people don’t care for the sweet aroma of hyacinth but to me it is heavenly.

When I talk to people about the flowers that they want to either buy for themselves or give them to someone, the most popular question is “how long will they last”.  If they are kept outside to decorate a porch or patio, they will last for weeks.  They do best in cooler temperatures and can take the cool April nights.  Tulips are the biggest concern because during the day they open up and look as if they are bloomed-out.  This is what tulips do.  While the sun is out they will open their flowers and then in the evening and nighttime they close back up again – so don’t be concerned about a tulip with open blossoms.  They are just showing off.  I have a few little tables and plant stands on my porch where I like to show off my bulb plants.  I slip them into a decorative pot – not just because it looks nicer but it also keeps them from blowing over in the wind.

One word of caution about Easter lilies – they are poisonous to cats so choose wisely when  making a selection for either yourself or someone else.

If you want to keep your flowers inside, bulb plants will give at least two weeks of color. There is always the choice of buying a cheerful basket of seasonal color for the house too. Inside, a mixtures of daisies, geraniums, calla lilies, begonias, etc. are perfectly happy and will thrive.

Leave a Reply

